Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogy: Online Databases

This LibGuide covers the various resources available regarding genealogy.

Online Resources for Genealogy

These databases are of special interest to genealogists.  

Ancestry Library Edition

A comprehensive online source of information for genealogical research. Research Census records, vital records, immigration records, and much more including Public Member Trees. Ancestry Library Edition is only accessible in the library at any of our three locations.

FamilySearch.org

FamilySearch is one of the most popular genealogical resources in the world that is sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Create your account and you are ready to explore!

Cyndi's List

Cyndi’s List is not a database but a free directory of categorized and cross-referenced list of links for genealogical research on the Internet.

U. S. National Archives

This is the official site for the National Archives.

HeritageQuest Online

This genealogical database is available through the Texas State Library. It is a wealth of information from U. S. Federal Censuses (1780-1940); slave schedules for the 1850 & 1860); U. S. Indian Census Rolls (1885-1940); City Directories; Mortality Schedules; Agricultural and Industrial Schedules; 1890 Veterans Schedule and including Books, Revolutionary War, and Freedman's Bank.

Can be viewed from home but contact the McAllen Public Library for username and pin number.

Find A Grave

An extensive database of records and images from cemeteries around the world. This database is updated by volunteers is a free resource who those want to search cemeteries virtually.

The Portal to Texas History

This website allows you to explore Texas history materials and collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical and genealogical societies, and private family collections.

Atlas of Historical County Boundaries

Maps and data on the creation and changes on every county in the United States and the District of Columbia.

National Archives Resources for Genealogists

Portal to the United States repository for most federal, military, census, immigration and other records.

Chronicling America

Sponsored jointly by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment of the Humanities, this database has digitized images of newspapers from across the United States from 1789-1964.

TexShare - History and Genealogy

The following databases are useful for genealogy and local history and are available through the Texas State Library.

  • Bibliography of Native North Americanscovers the culture, history and daily life of native North Americans
  • HeritageQuest Online: Research materials to trace family lineage.
  • Texas Digital Sanborn Maps: Historical maps for historians, geographers, and genealogists.
  • Texas Reference Center: Search EBSCO resources for Texas-related information.

To access the TexShare Databases, when prompted, select the McAllen Public Library and enter the password TX78504.